THE ENGLISH - SERBIAN FRIENDSHIP HALL

The building is situated on Kosovke Devojke Street, and it was built in 1926 in accordance with the designs of the Russian architect Julijan Djupon, who after the October Revolution lived and worked in Niš. The construction was preceded by the events related to the Liberation wars waged by Serbia at the turn of the 20th century. At the initiative of Lady Layla Padget, the “Serbian support fund” for the support of war orphans was founded in England in 1914. The funds were raised in England and Serbia through charity donations, and the land was donated by the nearby Church of St. Pantelejmon.

Prince Pavle and Princess Olga were present at the opening and consecration ceremony, along with distinguished guests from England, Belgrade and Niš. A year later, a nearby school was built for the children of the home. The English government gave the building to the city of Niš as a present in 1948, and today it operates under the name of “The Hall of High School Youths”.

The architecture of the building is in the spirit of simple Neo-Romanticism. The symmetrical façade pattern is accented with the pronounced entry porch and lateral bay windows, and the serrated attic reminds the viewer of medieval fortification structures.